Hamilton Herald Masthead


Front Page - Friday, June 19, 2020

CBA seeks 2020 Liberty Bell Award nominations

Judge Clarence Shattuck presents Napoleon “Donut” Williams with the Chattanooga Bar Association’s 2014 Liberty Bell Award. Williams was the first African American chief of police at Chattanooga State. - Photo by David Humber

Each year, the Chattanooga Bar Association honors an outstanding citizen in the Chattanooga area with the Liberty Bell Award. The bar is currently asking for nominations for the 2020 recipient of the public service award, which will be presented during the annual Law Day Luncheon on Wednesday Aug. 26.

The bar is asking that it receive all nominations by Wednesday, Aug. 5. Please complete the form below and send it to Lynda Minks Hood, Chattanooga Bar Association, The Pioneer Building, 801 Broad St., Ste. 420, Chattanooga, TN 37402

The purpose of the Liberty Bell Award is to recognize community service that has strengthened the American system of freedom under law.

In selecting the recipient of this award, the Chattanooga Bar Association considers such service as including activities which promote better understanding of the U.S. Constitution and the Bill of Rights, encourage a greater respect for the law and the courts, stimulates a deeper sense of individual responsibility, contribute to the effective functioning of the institutions of government and foster a better understanding and appreciation of the rule of law.

Lawyers and judges are not eligible for the award; however, all other fields of endeavor are included, namely education, business, sciences, communications, labor, government, religion, professions and youth organizations.

Past winners

1964 William O. Hubbuch

1965 William E. Brock, Jr.

1966 Raymond R. Murphy, Sr

1967 Rev. John H. Bonner, Jr.

1968 Lee S. Anderson

1969 Dr. James L. Fowler

1970 Dr. C.C. Bond

1971 Col. Creed F. Bates

1972 Dr. Jesse E. Adams

1973 Dr. J. Fred Johnson, Sr.

1974 Roy C. Noel, Sr.

1975 Margaret Cooper

1976 Dr. Spencer McCallie, Jr.

1977 Dr. Lee S. Roberson

1978 Joseph H. Davenport, Jr.

1979 Gordon P. Street, Sr.

1980 Mai Bell Hurley

1982 Luther Masingill

1983 Morris J. Slutsky

1984 H. Carey Hanlin

1985 Joseph F. Decosimo

1986 Col. Roger Ingvalson

1987 John Popham

1988 Sam McConnell

1989 Sarah Faires and Alfred Law, Jr.

1990 Ruth Holmberg

1991 J. Robert McGuff

1992 Rabbi Ken Kantor

1993 Anne Dixson

1994 Paul J. Kinser

1995 Martha McCarley

1996 Dr. Dennis L. Bizzoco

1997 Charlotte B. Boatwright

1998 Rev. Paul A. McDaniel

1999 Linda Mines

2000 Vernon W. Cox

2001 Flo Summitt

2002 Harold L. Coker

2003 Judith Medearis

2004 James Mapp

2005 Robert Oliver

2006 Julie Baumgardner

2007 Paul Neely

2008 Bill Markham

2009 Wayne Keylon

2010 Skipper Fairbanks

2011 Claude Ramsey

2012 Jenny Smith Wright

2013 Dr. Michael Woodward

2014 Napoleon Williams

2015 Dr. Patricia Skates

2016 Joe Smith

2017 Dr. David F. Ross

2018 Sen. Bob Corker

2019 Darrell Wyke