Hamilton Herald Masthead Hamilton Herald


Front Page - Friday, February 2, 2018

La Paz announces board member additions

La Paz Chattanooga has announced the addition of three members to its board of directors – Jay Elliott, Erwin Ovalle and Ronna-Renee Jackson – while also thanking two outgoing board members, Angela Garcia and Fred Fletcher, for their service.

Elliott is the vice president of Legal at Kenco Group. He has been a board member for various non-profits in Chattanooga over the years, including the Cherokee Area Council for the Boy Scouts of America, Junior Achievement of Chattanooga, the Truesdale Foundation and Normal Park Museum Magnet Education Fund Board, of which he was chair.

“I’m excited about joining the La Paz board. I’m familiar with the great work La Paz does in and for the Chattanooga community, and I hope I can help them do more,” Elliott says

Ovalle is an entrepreneur and owner of several local businesses including Ovalle’s Catering, MCS Cleaning and Nerdwebs. Ovalle is a native of Guatemala and has been a Chattanooga resident since 2001. He was a recipient of the Chattanooga’s Choice Award at the 2016 Latino Leadership Awards.

“The opportunity to serve on La Paz’s board of directors is an honor and an exciting chance for me to live out my faith by doing whatever I can, wherever I am, for as long as I can to try to make a difference,” Ovalle says.

Jackson is a partner at Launch Point Leadership. Jackson is a certified professional coach and serves on numerous volunteer, community and management boards, including the Foundation Board for CHI Memorial Hospital, the Girl Scouts of Southern Appalachian Council and the Chattanooga Area Chamber of Commerce. Among her many accolades is her designation as a 2016 Woman of Distinction.

The three members join the organization as two members retire from their service on the La Paz Board of Directors: Fletcher, former chief of the Chattanooga Police Department, who served as the previous board chair, and Garcia, the Latino Market accounts manager at Coca-Cola UNITED Bottling Company, who has volunteered with La Paz for over eight years.

In addition to the newly announced board members, the remaining members – Dr. Kelly Rodney Arnold, Marco Perez, Jana Eichel, Abigail Tilley, Carlos Calderin, Brittany Thomas Faith, and Richard Mathis – continue to serve on the board.

Source: La Paz Chattanooga