Hamilton Herald Masthead Hamilton Herald


Front Page - Friday, December 22, 2017

Erlanger to honor four at 2018 Dinner of Distinction

Dr. Michael Greer, Dr. Michael Love, Rae Young Bond and the late Tom Edd Wilson will be honored at the Erlanger Health System Foundation’s annual Dinner of Distinction on Friday, Jan. 19. This is the 15th year for Erlanger’s annual recognition event, which will be held at the Chattanoogan Hotel from 6-9 p.m.

Greer and Love were selected for their commitment to fostering quality medical services locally as well as demonstrating unquestionable character and human compassion, says Julie Taylor, president and chief development officer of Erlanger Health.

Erlanger Health will honor Bond and Wilson with Gordon Street Distinguished Leadership awards. Erlanger gives these awards annually to community leaders who have championed the advancement of healthcare in the Greater Chattanooga region.

Greer is a board certified vascular surgeon with University Surgical Associates. He has served in numerous leadership roles at Erlanger, including 20 years on the health system’s credentialing committee.

Greer has also served as secretary of the medical staff and was a founding member of Assured Care. An associate professor of surgery at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center College, he has served as surgical clerkship director of medical students for the past 15 years. Greer has also served for six years on the Alumni Council of UTHSC and 15 years as president of University Surgical Associates.

Love is a board certified cardiovascular disease specialist with UT Erlanger Cardiology. He has served on Erlanger’s cardiology, pharmacy and therapeutics committees and currently serves on the health system’s transportation advisory committee.

Love is a fellow of the American College of Cardiology and a member of the American College of Physicians and the American Heart Association. In 1981, he served as president of the Chattanooga chapter of the American Heart Association. He is also an assistant professor of internal medicine at UTHSC.

In addition to serving as CEO of the Chattanooga-Hamilton County Medical Society, Bond heads the Medical Foundation of Chattanooga as well as Project Access, a community health partnership that coordinates charity care for low-income, uninsured residents of Hamilton County.

She is chair of the Chattanooga-Hamilton County Regional Health Council and serves on the boards or operating councils of the Association of American Medical Society Executives, Tennessee Physician Quality Verification Organization, Volunteers in Medicine, Chattanooga Medical Group Management Association, Hamilton County Step ONE Health Initiative, Regional Science and Engineering Fair and Project Access.

Bond also assisted the Tennessee Department of Health in the development of the 2010 and 2014 Tennessee State Health Plans.

Wilson died suddenly on June 10, 2017, less than a week after leading ground-breaking ceremonies for the new Children’s Hospital Outpatient Center at Erlanger. His career and civic involvement enabled him to lend his expertise and support to many major initiatives around the state.

Most recently, Wilson served as co-chair of the Erlanger Children’s Hospital Capital Campaign. He was a member of Erlanger’s Hospital board of trustees, SunTrust Bank’s board of directors, the Economic Development Council, the Mayor’s Task Force on Renewal Communities, the Enterprise South Development board, the Local Workforce Investment board, the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga Chancellor’s Roundtable, the Rail Authority board, the College of Engineering Computer Sciences industrial board and THRIVE.

Erlanger’s 15th annual Dinner of Distinction will include a reception, dinner and a program featuring the honorees.

Tickets are $125 per person or $1,500 for a table of eight people. Seating is limited. The deadline to purchase tickets is Jan. 12.

Information, tickets: Rebecca Styles with Erlanger Health at (423 778-4803, Rebecca.Styles@erlanger.org)

Source: Erlanger Health