Hamilton Herald Masthead


Front Page - Friday, December 15, 2017

Girls Inc. announces honorees for 14th annual UnBought & UnBossed awards


Girls Inc. has announced the women selected to be honored at the 14th annual UnBought & UnBossed awards luncheon to be held on April 11.

Named for the phrase coined by Shirley Chisholm during her historic run for the 1972 Democratic presidential nomination, the UnBought & UnBossed awards honor local women who through their career achievement and community involvement have made a significant impact on the lives of women and girls.

Community members submit nominations of women residing in Hamilton County and the honorees are chosen by the high school-aged girls participating in the Girls Inc. Women’s History Project.

The 2018 honorees are:

  • Karen Officer-Bell, senior project manager, Tennessee Valley Authority
  • Kisha Caldwell, director of recruiting & orientation, Chattanooga State Community College
  • Dr. Martina Harris, assistant dean of Nursing & Allied Health, Chattanooga State Community College
  • Emily O’Donnell, executive director, Women’s Fund of Greater Chattanooga
  • Tyler Jeffrey, construction project manager, Volkert
  • Dionne Jennings, vice president of diversity and inclusion, Tennessee Valley Federal Credit Union
  • Eva Jo (Sadler) Johnson, social and community activist, Retired K-12 educator
  • Henrietta Morris, managing director, IAEV

As part of the Women’s History Project, girls learn about the history of women’s rights in the United States and the traits of leaders.

This serves as the foundation for the girls to select an honoree from the community nominations that inspires them.

In addition, the participants hone their interview, research and public speaking skills as they develop presentations to deliver in tribute to the UnBought & UnBossed honorees at the luncheon.

Girls participating in this year’s Women’s History Project are:

  • Ashton Mayo-Beaver, Chattanooga High School Center for Creative Arts
  • Kaleigh Lounds, Chattanooga Girls Leadership Academy
  • Jamara Dews, Brainerd High School
  • Laké Davidson, Chattanooga Girls Leadership Academy
  • Timbrel Williams, Chattanooga High School Center for Creative Arts
  • Jariah Chatman, Brainerd High School
  • Maniyah Chatman, Chattanooga High School Center for Creative Arts
  • Frida Uwimana, Chattanooga Girls Leadership Academy

Sponsorship and table purchases may be made at www.girlsincofchatt.org/tickets-and-tables.

Source: Girls Inc.