Hamilton Herald Masthead


Front Page - Friday, July 7, 2017

Chattanooga law enforcement honored

Chattanooga p?olice officers, civilian employees, community members and partner agencies were recognized last week at the Chattanooga Police Department Annual Awards Ceremony? held at Calvary Chapel.

Each year the Chattanooga Police Department honors officers and civilians who have performed an exceptional act or served in an exceptional manner.

“I finished my career in law enforcement doing what I like best: recognizing the sacrifice, heroics and service of the men and women of the police department and our partners in the community,”? said CPD Chief Fred Fletcher.

  • Officer of the Year: Chris Mullinix
  • Patrol Officer of the Year: Zackary Crawford
  • Investigator of the Year: Brad Brown
  • Civilian of the Year: Amy Schaefer
  • Rookie of the Year: Officer Patrick Cavanaugh
  • Supervisor of the Year: Sgt. Tommy Meeks
  • Manager of the Year: Lt. John Chambers
  • Life Saving Awards: Sgt. Tim Tomisek, Sgt. Steve Wiertel, Sgt. Andrew Peker, Officer Brian Angel, Officer Curtis Roth, Officer Zackary Crawford
  • Chief’s Awards: Sgt. Josh May, Sam Wofford, Zachary Wiley, Kenneth Elwood, Kenny Reynolds, Raymond Hass, Caroline Huffaker
  • Special recognition: Crime Analysis Unit, Traffic Unit, Crime Scene Unit, Victim Services Unit
  • Chief’s Certificate of Appreciation: Shirley Varner, Pam Hickman, Alice Turner
  • Spirit of Community Policing: Officer Rob Simmons
  • Distinguished Alumnus: Bobby Simpson, Curtis Greene
  • Law Enforcement Partner of the Year: Hamilton County District Attorney’s Office
  • Community Partners of the Year: James Moreland, Stacy Johnson
  • Federal Partner of the Year: U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration
  • Citizens’ Police Academy Alumni Association: Jeffery Evans
  • Chaplain of the Year: Ben Brychta
  • Distinguished Legacy Award: Assistant Chief Tracy Arnold