Hamilton Herald Masthead


Front Page - Friday, July 22, 2016

50 Years Ago

What was happening in Chattanooga in 1966?

Saturday, July 23, 1966

Miss Olive Atwood, executive vice president and secretary of the Chattanooga – Hamilton County Interstate Fair, met with the directors of the annual “Fairest of the Fair” contest to be held Sept. 19, the opening night of the week-long fair. Mrs. Sam P. Robinson is director of the contest; Mrs. Noble Simmons, contest consultant, and Miss Betty Tenpenny, Hamilton County assistant home demonstration agent, also a co-director.

Dr. Bennie Carmichael, City School superintendent, said he will recommend James R. Talley at principal of North Chattanooga Junior High School to fill the position vacated by the retirement of Roy Austin. Talley is currently principal of Normal park Elementary School.

Sunday, July 24

William A. Morring, who for years was active in promoting Chattanooga’s industrial development, died Saturday in an Atlanta hospital following an operation. Mr. Morring was for more than 15 years an executive of the Chattanooga Chamber of Commerce. He resigned in 1950 to establish his own real estate firm, W.A. Morring Co., specializing in industrial and commercial sales and leases. In 1959 he retired from active business.

Frederick M. Peyser, Jr., of New York, and Francis Ahern of Chattanooga, have been elected to the board of directors of the Dorsey Corp., it was announced by J. Frank Harrison, president.

Monday, July 25

The First Trust Co. will pay its unsecured creditors 56.2412 per cent of their claims and checks for 52 claims will be mailed this week. Referee Byron Pope of the bankruptcy court said. Action to close the bankrupt estate was voted at a final meeting with Pope and G. Royal Neese, trustee for the First Trust for the past four years.

Ray Frix Tarvin, co-owner of the Tarvin Supply Co., died this afternoon. He is survived by his wife, Mrs. Hattie W. Tarvin, and one brother, Paul Tarvin.

Tuesday, July 26

Robert A. Wharton of Atlanta has been appointed assistant superintendent of Louisville & Nashville Railroad Co. in Chattanooga to succeed Harold Endicott who was transferred to Birmingham as assistant superintendent.

Wednesday, July 27

B.T. Moser, plant manager for Lockheed, revealed the employment for the Lockheed Georgia Company’s Chattanooga fabrication plant, which now has 240 and is expected to reach 600 by mid-Fall. The local plant already has 3,700,000 man-hours backlogged on one project between now and 1970. Mr. Moser, who came here as plant manager after 14 years with Lockheed at Marietta, Ga., addressed the Chattanooga Lions Club at the Read House luncheon.

The National Foundation grant of $16,754.70 to the Birth Defects Center at Erlanger Hospital was presented Tuesday by James W. Reilly, chairman of the Hamilton County Chapter, to Dr. Walter Boehm, director of the Center.

Thursday, July 28

Dr. Spires Whitaker, thoracic surgeon and medical director of Pine Breeze Sanitorium, has been designated “Excellate” by the American Academy of Tuberculosis Physicians, it was announced Wednesday at the board meeting of the Hamilton County Tuberculosis Association. “Excellate” designates the highest proficiency attained by a doctor of medicine in his chosen field of tuberculosis and ancillary medical problems.

Friday, July 29

The Kiwanis Club of Brainerd will hold its 20th annual barbecue Friday and Saturday to raise funds for its youth work. The barbecue will be in Brainerd Park behind Brainerd Junior High School. William Price, president of the club, said all tickets are $1.50 and may be obtained from any member of the Brainerd Kiwanis Club.

Frand Morast, president of the Hamilton National Bank, has been elected to a three years term on the executive council of the American Bankers Association according to an announcement from ABA.

Chattanoogans, Charles L. Griffin, Thordis D. Hardin, John K. Williams, and Gilbert Stein, Jr., alternate, will act as judges for this area in the “Tennessee Service Station of the Year” contest, according to Henry Lartigue, Jr., coordinator of area judging. The eight finalists are Joe Collins (Phillips) and William T. Lawson (Sinclair) in Cleveland, and R.K. Elmore (Gulf), John H. and James C. Gamble (Shell partnership), Leonard Helton (Texaco), T.G. Hixon (Pure), Ben F. Johnson (Citgo) and E.C. Justice, (Esso) all in Chattanooga. At stake is the industry title of “Tennessee Service Station of 1966” plus a vacation for the state winner to any of several hundred Holiday Inns.