Hamilton Herald Masthead


Front Page - Friday, July 22, 2016

Attorney Lee Davis wins Brock-Cooper Inn of Court 2016 Civility Award

Davis also elected to serve as Inn’s 2017-18 president

L-R: Ron Powers, 2015-16 president of the Chattanooga Chapter of the American Inns of Court; Lee Davis, 2016 Civility Award Winner and 2017-18 president; Circuit Court Judge Jeff Hollingsworth; and Richard Rose, 2016-17 president. - Photograph by Sheri Fox

The Chattanooga Chapter of the American Inns of Court has chosen Chattanooga attorney Lee Davis as the recipient of the 2016 Civility Award. The award is presented annually to the lawyer voted by local state and federal court judges to be the most civil and the most effective attorney practicing in the local court system.

The Justices Ray L. Brock Jr.-Robert E. Cooper American Inn of Court is composed of over 100 local lawyers and judges, and is one of more than 350 Inns of Court located throughout the United States. The purpose of an Inn of Court is to improve the skills, professionalism, ethics, and civility of the bench and bar. Membership is by invitation only.

“Civility is not only a cornerstone of our Inns of Court Chapter, but also is a cornerstone of our profession,” said 2016-17 Inn President Richard Rose of Miller & Martin. “We are very pleased to recognize Lee Davis, one of our own, as this year’s unanimous winner of the Civility Award. We look forward to continuing the advancement of professionalism, civility, and excellence in advocacy within the bar.”

Davis was further honored during the Inn’s June 9 business meeting by being elected to serve as the organization’s 2017-18 president.

“We are thrilled and truly fortunate to have someone as skilled and as highly regarded as Mr. Davis agree to serve our Inn as president,” said outgoing Inn president Ron Powers, Hamilton County Judicial Magistrate and private practice lawyer.

The Inn also recently announced its annual election of officers. In addition to Rose, who was elected to serve as president during the 2016-17 term, the following attorneys will lead the Inn: David C. Higney, Grant, Konvalinka & Harrison, secretary; Kara West, U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Chapter 13 Trustee, treasurer; Katharine Gardner, clerk, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Tennessee, executive committee member – special projects; Sheri Fox, Legal Aid of East Tennessee, executive committee member – program and membership; Adam Izell, Tidwell & Izell, executive committee member; Chris Collins, Husch Blackwell, executive committee member; William R. Hannah, Chambliss, Bahner & Stophel, executive committee member; and Powers, executive committee member and immediate past president.

For more information, contact Fox at (423) 402-4756 or sfox@laet.org.

Source: Chattanooga Chapter of the American Inns of Court